Board & Meetings

Clay County Advisory Committee

The county board of health is the policy-making, rule-making and adjudicatory body for a county health department.

The members of a county board of health are appointed by the county board of commissioners and is made up of 11 members. The composition of the board shall reasonably reflect the population makeup of the county and shall include: one physician licensed to practice medicine in this State, one licensed dentist, one licensed optometrist, one licensed veterinarian, one registered nurse, one licensed pharmacist, one county commissioner, one professional engineer, and three representatives of the general public. These members are residents of the county unless special circumstances exist.

Clay County Advisory Committee Members

Dr. Russell Hughes-Chairman

Dr. James Redmond-Dentist

Dr. Robert Peck-Commissioner

Dr. Douglas Klaucke-Physician

Darlene Lowe-Registered Nurse

David Byers-Pharmacist

Silas Brown-Veterinarian Representative

Brian Burch -Engineer

Bert Schafer-Co-Chairman

Clara Reffit-At large member

Marilee Powell-At large member


The Clay County Board of Health meets the second Tuesday of January, April, July, and October at 6:00 PM at the Health Department at 345 Courthouse Drive, Hayesville, NC 28904. All Board of Health meetings are open to the public.

Clay County Health Dept.

Phone: (828) 389-8052

Fax: (828) 389-8533


Monday - Friday

8:00 am - 12:00 pm

1:00 pm- 5:00 pm

Clay County Dental Clinic


Phone: (828) 837-1397

Fax: (828) 837-1568


Monday -Thursday

7:30 AM -6:00 PM

(Closed Fridays)

Environmental Health

Phone: (828) 389-8326

345 Courthouse Drive

Hayesville, North Carolina 28904

  • Facebook Clean

After Hours Reporting

After hours, please call dispatch for on call staff at 828-389-2260

© 2019 Clay County Health Department. All Rights Reserved. View Our Privacy Policy.